[Cite as State v. Dremsek, 2009-Ohio-6437.]

COURT OF APPEALS
DELAWARE COUNTY, OHIO
FIFTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

STATE OF OHIO

Plaintiff-Appellee
_VS_

JOHN DREMSEK

Defendant-Appellant

CHARACTER OF PROCEEDING:

JUDGMENT:

DATE OF JUDGMENT ENTRY:

APPEARANCES:
For Plaintiff-Appellee:

MARK CORROTO

DELAWARE CITY PROSECUTOR
70 N. Union St.

Delaware, OH 43015

JUDGES:

Hon. Sheila G. Farmer, P.J.
Hon. John W. Wise, J.

Hon. Patricia A. Delaney, J.

Case No. 09 CAC 020010

OPINION

Appeal from the Delaware Municipal Court
Case No. 08 TRD 05679

REVERSED; JUDGMENT VACATED

December 2, 2009

For Defendant-Appellant:

DOMINIC L. MANGO
46 N. Sandusky St.
Delaware, OH 43015



[Cite as State v. Dremsek, 2009-Ohio-6437.]

Delaney, J.

{11} Defendant-Appellant John Dremsek appeals the January 5, 2009
judgment entry of the Delaware Municipal Court ordering Appellant to pay restitution.
Plaintiff-Appellee is the State of Ohio.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND THE CASE

{12} On May 2, 2008, Appellant and Jason Jenkins were driving their
respective vehicles in a private parking lot. While Jenkins was moving his car forward
from his parking space, he vehicle was struck by Appellant’s vehicle. Appellant did not
notice damage to his vehicle and drove away.

{13} A police officer arrived on the scene and interviewed Jenkins. Shortly
thereafter, the officer interviewed Appellant. Based on his investigation, the officer
charged Appellant with a violation of R.C. 4549.021, entitled “Duty to stop after accident
occurring on property other than public highways.”

{14} On August 22, 2008, Appellant appeared before the Delaware Municipal
Court and entered a plea of no contest to an amended charge of violation of R.C.
4549.03, failure to stop after an accident involving the property of others. In its
judgment entry, the trial court found Appellant guilty and ordered Appellant to pay a
$200 fine and court costs. The trial court simultaneously issued a second Order in
which the trial court stated that Appellant must pay restitution if he was at fault in the
accident that gave rise to the charge. The trial court stated an evidentiary hearing
would be held on the matter.

{15} An evidentiary hearing was held on December 22, 2008. Appellant did not

appear at the hearing, but he was represented by his counsel. Jenkins testified as to
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the accident that occurred on May 2, 2008 in which Appellant struck his car and left the
scene. Jenkins testified that he incurred $1,834.53 in damages to his car.

{16} On January 5, 2009, the trial court issued a judgment entry ordering
Appellant to pay restitution in the amount of $1,834.53 to Jenkins to compensate him for
his economic loss. The trial court found Appellant’s reckless driving resulted in the
collision with Jenkins’s vehicle.

{17} Itis from this decision Appellant now appeals.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR

{18} Appellant raises one Assignment of Error:

{19} “lI. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED WITH PREJUDICIAL IMPACT AGAINST
DEFENDANT BY ORDERING RESTITUTION RELATING TO AN OFFENSE OR
OFFENSES FOR WHICH THE APPELLANT WAS NOT CONVICTED OR EVEN
CHANGED.”

l.

{110} Appellant argues in his sole Assignment of Error that the trial court was
not authorized to impose restitution as a sanction based upon Appellant’s conviction for
failure to stop after an accident involving property of others, a first-degree
misdemeanor. We agree.

{111} R.C. 2929.28(A) governs the trial court’s authority to impose restitution as
part of a criminal sanction for misdemeanor offenses. It states in pertinent part:

{112} “(A) In addition to imposing court costs pursuant to section 2947.23 of the
Revised Code, the court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a misdemeanor,

including a minor misdemeanor, may sentence the offender to any financial sanction or
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combination of financial sanctions authorized under this section. If the court in its
discretion imposes one or more financial sanctions, the financial sanctions that may be
imposed pursuant to this section include, but are not limited to, the following:

{113} “(1) Unless the misdemeanor offense is a minor misdemeanor or could be
disposed of by the traffic violations bureau serving the court under Traffic Rule 13,
restitution by the offender to the victim of the offender's crime or any survivor of the
victim, in an amount based on the victim's economic loss. The court may not impose
restitution as a sanction pursuant to this division if the offense is a minor misdemeanor
or could be disposed of by the traffic violations bureau serving the court under Traffic
Rule 13. If the court requires restitution, the court shall order that the restitution be
made to the victim in open court or to the adult probation department that serves the
jurisdiction or the clerk of the court on behalf of the victim.

{1114} “If the court imposes restitution, the court shall determine the amount of
restitution to be paid by the offender. If the court imposes restitution, the court may
base the amount of restitution it orders on an amount recommended by the victim, the
offender, a presentence investigation report, estimates or receipts indicating the cost of
repairing or replacing property, and other information, provided that the amount the
court orders as restitution shall not exceed the amount of the economic loss suffered by
the victim as a direct and proximate result of the commission of the offense. If the court
decides to impose restitution, the court shall hold an evidentiary hearing on restitution if
the offender, victim, or survivor disputes the amount of restitution. If the court holds an
evidentiary hearing, at the hearing the victim or survivor has the burden to prove by a

preponderance of the evidence the amount of restitution sought from the offender.
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{115} “All restitution payments shall be credited against any recovery of
economic loss in a civil action brought by the victim or any survivor of the victim against
the offender. * **”

{116} We find the Tenth District Court of Appeals in City of Columbus v.
Cardwell, 176 Ohio App.3d 673, 2008-Ohio-1725, 893 N.E.2d 526, addressed the exact
issue as presented by Appellant. In Cardwell, the defendant was convicted of failing to
maintain an assured clear distance ahead, a minor misdemeanor, and failing to stop
after an accident, a first-degree misdemeanor. The trial court imposed a fine of $125
and costs; a 90-day jail sentenced but suspended 89 days of the sentence; and placed
the appellant on probation for two years. As a condition of probation, the trial court
ordered the defendant to pay the victim restitution in the amount of $771.94,
representing the property damage to the victim’s car. Id. at 11, 5.

{117} The Cardwell court first determined that R.C. 2929.08(A) prohibited the
trial court from imposing restitution as a sanction if the offense was a minor
misdemeanor. Id. at 8. The court went on to analyze whether the trial court was
authorized to impose restitution for a sanction based on a conviction of a hit-skip
offense. The court determined:

{118} “By enacting R.C. 2929.28(A), the state legislature limited a trial court's
authority to impose restitution as part of a criminal sentence for misdemeanor
convictions. The statute permits the trial court to order restitution for economic loss
suffered by the victim for certain misdemeanor offenses, but the amount of restitution
‘shall not exceed the amount of the economic loss suffered by the victim as a direct and

proximate result of the commission of the offense.” R.C. 2929.28(A)(1). In addition,
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‘economic loss’ is statutorily defined as ‘any economic detriment suffered by a victim as
a direct and proximate result of the commission of the offense.” R.C. 2929.01(M). Here,
Fraime [the victim] suffered no economic loss as a direct and proximate result of
appellant's hit-skip conviction because the property damage to Fraime's vehicle
occurred before the hit-skip violation. Therefore, the trial court could not order
restitution as part of a criminal sanction. See Columbus v. Repine, Franklin App. No.
07AP-250, 2007-Ohio-5015, 2007 WL 2773839 (victim's economic loss was a direct and
proximate result of a defendant's conviction for driving without an operator's license
where the victim's economic loss occurred after the unlawful conduct).” Id. at 11.

{119} We find the same analysis to be applicable to the present case. Jenkins
suffered no economic loss as a direct and proximate result of Appellant’s conviction for
failure to stop after an accident. The property damage to Jenkins’s vehicle occurred
before Appellant’s unlawful conduct.

{120} As in Cardwell, the State relies on this Court’s decision in State v. Hunt,
Knox App. No. 04-CA-00005, 2004-Ohio-5519, to argue that restitution is a proper
sanction when there is a conviction for failure to stop after an accident. We find the
underlying circumstances in Hunt to be distinguishable from the present case. In Hunt,
the defendant collided with a horse-drawn buggy and caused serious physical injuries to
one of the buggy’s occupants. The defendant fled the scene of the accident. The
defendant entered a guilty plea to one count of leaving the scene of an accident. The
charge was elevated from a misdemeanor to a felony of the fifth degree because the

violation resulted in serious physical harm to a person as stated in R.C. 4549.02(B). Id.
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at 13, 111. The trial court placed the defendant on community control and ordered him
to pay restitution in the sum of $38,704.93 to the injured party. Id. at 6.

{1121} This Court found the trial court had the authority to order restitution under
R.C. 2929.18 because the defendant was convicted of a felony offense involving
serious physical harm to the victim. Id. at 113. In the present case, however, as in
Cardwell, the victim’'s loss was limited to property damage that was not a direct or
proximate result of Appellant's unlawful conduct in fleeing the accident. Appellant’s
misdemeanor conviction was based on conduct that occurred after the accident.

{122} We therefore sustain Appellant’s sole Assignment of Error.

{123} The judgment of the Delaware Municipal Court as to the order of
restitution is reversed and the January 5, 2009 judgment is vacated.
By: Delaney, J.
Farmer, P.J. and

Wise, J. concur.

HON. PATRICIA A. DELANEY

HON. SHEILA G. FARMER

HON. JOHN W. WISE

PAD:kgb



[Cite as State v. Dremsek, 2009-Ohio-6437.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR DELAWARE COUNTY, OHIO
FIFTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

STATE OF OHIO

Plaintiff-Appellee
-Vs- : JUDGMENT ENTRY
JOHN DREMSEK

Case No. 09 CAC 020010
Defendant-Appellant

For the reasons stated in our accompanying Memorandum-Opinion on file, the
January 5, 2009 judgment entry of the Delaware Municipal Court is reversed and

vacated. Costs assessed to Appellee.
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HON. JOHN W. WISE



