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 HUTZEL, J. 

{¶1} Defendant-appellant, Glen Stiles, appeals the decision of the Hamilton 

Municipal Court ordering him to pay $3,833 in restitution in a theft case.  For the reasons set 

forth below, we reverse the trial court's restitution order. 

{¶2} In the fall of 2010, appellant was charged with one count of breaking and 

entering and one count of theft, both felonies of the fifth degree.  The state alleged that 
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appellant entered a property on Twelfth Street in Hamilton, Ohio and removed an outdoor air 

conditioning unit from the property.  Appellant pled guilty to a reduced charge of theft, a 

misdemeanor of the first degree, in violation of R.C. 2913.02; was sentenced to jail; and 

following a restitution hearing, was ordered to pay $3,833 in restitution. 

{¶3} Appellant appeals, raising one assignment of error: 

{¶4} "THE TRIAL COURT ERRED WHEN IT ORDERED MR. STILES TO PAY 

RESTITUTION IN THE AMOUNT OF $3,833.00." 

{¶5} Appellant argues that because he entered a guilty plea to a misdemeanor theft, 

and not to a fifth-degree felony theft offense, the amount of restitution to be paid to the victim 

of the offense cannot exceed $500.  We agree. 

{¶6} R.C. 2929.28 authorizes trial courts to impose financial sanctions on 

misdemeanor offenders.  This includes ordering the offender to pay restitution to the victim, 

or the victim's survivor, "in an amount based on the victim's economic loss."  R.C. 

2929.28(A)(1).  Following his misdemeanor theft conviction, appellant was ordered to pay 

$3,833 in restitution.  However, for a person to be convicted of misdemeanor theft, the value 

of the property or services deprived must be less than $500.  See R.C. 2913.02(B)(2); State 

v. Henry, Clermont App. No. CA2009-12-081, 2010-Ohio-4571, ¶21.   

{¶7} As this court has previously recognized, "restitution can only be ordered for 

those acts that constitute the crime for which the defendant has been convicted and 

sentenced."  Id. at ¶22, quoting State v. Smith, Butler App. No. CA2004-11-275, 2005-Ohio-

6551, ¶25.  Because appellant was convicted of misdemeanor theft, the amount of restitution 

to be paid to the victim of the offense must be less than $500.  Henry at ¶22; State v. Moore-

Bennett, Cuyahoga App. No. 95450, 2011-Ohio-1937, ¶17 (although defendant was originally 

charged with a fifth-degree felony theft offense, trial court erred in ordering defendant to pay 

over $2,000 in restitution when defendant was convicted of misdemeanor theft; upon 
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convicting defendant of misdemeanor theft, trial court was limited to ordering restitution in an 

amount consistent with misdemeanor theft, which is less than $500).   

{¶8} As the dissent indicates, R.C. 2929.28 does not appear to limit a trial court's 

restitution award to the value of the property set forth in the definition of a particular theft 

offense.  Nor does R.C. 2929.28 distinguish between misdemeanor theft cases from 

economic loss in other misdemeanor cases.  Nonetheless, we find that R.C. 2929.28 must be 

read in conjunction with R.C. 2913.02(B)(2), which defines the degree of a theft offense with 

specific reference to the monetary value of the property at issue.  State v. Miller, Butler App. 

No. CA2007-11-295, 2008-Ohio-5661, ¶9 (addressing a similar dissent with regard to R.C. 

2929.18, the restitution statute for felony offenders).   

{¶9} Accordingly, we vacate the restitution order and remand this matter to the trial 

court for further proceedings in accordance with this opinion. 

{¶10} Judgment reversed and remanded for further proceedings. 

 
 POWELL P.J., concurs. 
 
 
 PIPER, J., dissents. 
 
 
 PIPER, J., dissenting.   
 

{¶11} The majority follows State v. Henry, Clermont App. No. CA2009-12-081, 2010-

Ohio-4571, which limits the amount of restitution a trial court may require a defendant pay the 

victim of a theft offense to $499.99.  I respectfully dissent from the majority's holding today, 

and offer this explanation as to why we should depart from the interpretation created in State 

v. Henry and return to the plain meaning of R.C. 2929.28.   

{¶12} A trial court is statutorily required to determine the amount of restitution owed to 

the victim of a particular offense.  If the restitution amount tendered to the court is disputed, 
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the trial court is required to conduct a hearing wherein the victim bears the burden of proof by 

a preponderance of the evidence.  R.C. 2929.28(A)(1) clearly grants broad discretion to the 

trial court to "base the amount of restitution it orders" on new information presented at the 

restitution hearing.  This information can be from the victim, the offender, a presentence 

investigation report, estimates, receipts, or "any other information."   

{¶13} There is clearly no wording in the restitution statute which limits the victim's 

economic loss to $499.99.  Nor does any express wording in R.C. 2929.28 mandate that the 

trial court base the amount of the victim's economic loss on evidence produced at trial or 

representations contained in the theft complaint or police report.  Naturally, the trial court is 

limited to restitution arising from the actual damages experienced by the victim for the 

particular offense. 

{¶14} Statutory language prohibits restitution from exceeding the loss actually 

suffered as a direct and proximate result of the damages arising from the defendant's 

conduct in the case actually before the court.  This insures fairness to the offender so that he 

cannot be ordered to pay restitution for other losses that are not the result of his conduct.  If 

the victim's request for restitution is for economic loss that is remote, or indirect, the court is 

directed not to order such damages as economic loss attendant to the offense.   

{¶15} Insuring that restitution does not exceed what the offender directly and 

proximately caused the victim renders the defendant fully accountable for his conduct, while 

not permitting restitution to become punitive.  The statute does not expressly set a limit of 

$499.99 for a theft victim's economic loss.  The allegation that a misdemeanor theft offense 

has occurred and the amount is under $500 may govern an element of the offense or the 

degree of the crime, but it does not vitiate or render meaningless the proceedings and 

purpose otherwise clearly expressed in R.C. 2929.28.  The legislation's clear purpose is to 

make the victim whole. 
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{¶16} Courts regularly apply pertinent rules of construction in examining the operation 

of statutes.  Even assuming arguendo that R.C. 2929.28 is ambiguous, the doctrine of in pari 

materia requires a reading of other statutes on the same subject matter, and even 

paragraphs within the statute itself, as a whole, for purposes of consistency in the law.  See 

McKenzie v. Bureau of Motor Vehicle (July 10, 1995), Clermont App. No. CA95-01-005.  

Different parts of statutes on the same subject matter "should be read together to ascertain 

and effectuate if possible the legislative intent" seeking a reasonable construction of the 

wording involved.  Carrelli v. Dept. of Natural Resources, Brown App. No. CA2009-11-041, 

2010-Ohio-1516, ¶20. 

{¶17} R.C. 2929.28(A)(2) lists specific caps for fines for each level of misdemeanor. 

Yet nothing in 2929.28(A)(1) expressly states a victim's economic loss has a cap in a theft 

case.  Furthermore, nothing in R.C. 2929.28(A)(1) distinguishes misdemeanor theft cases 

from economic loss in other misdemeanor cases.  State v. Henry and the majority's holding 

herein interprets an exception for theft cases where the statute itself does not.  R.C. 

2929.28(A) applies to all misdemeanor cases and makes no reference to the classification of 

theft offenses, nor does it differentiate the "economic loss" in theft offenses.  The majority's 

decision grants the trial court discretion to determine the full economic loss in an assault 

case, a criminal damaging case, or any other misdemeanor case, but imposes a cap of 

$499.99 solely in misdemeanor theft offense cases.  Using an element of a theft offense (i.e. 

property valued under $500) for purposes of the restitution statute is misplaced.  If a victim 

initially thought his or her property was valued at $450 and at the conclusion of the 

proceedings discovered it was valued at $550, today's holding prevents the victim from 

receiving restitution for the offense committed by the offender, when the statute itself does 

not. 

{¶18} R.C. 2913.61, which governs valuation of stolen property in theft cases, differs 
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from the valuation of economic loss in the restitution statute.  For example, the valuation 

pursuant to R.C. 2913.61 must be established beyond a reasonable doubt, while the 

valuation of economic loss pursuant to R.C. 2929.28 is established by a preponderance of 

the admissible evidence offered at a trial on the charges.  Moreover, R.C. 2929.28 contains 

no suggestion that the methodology of R.C. 2913.61 should be used for purposes of 

determining a victim's economic loss.  Yet, our majority decision herein, as in Henry, binds 

the trial court's determination of restitution to the value of the property based on a valuation 

standard for criminal charges set forth in a completely different statute.  

{¶19} The Ohio Supreme Court in State v. Adams (1988), 39 Ohio St.3d 186, 

unequivocally stated that sales tax attached to the replacement of a stolen item is not part of 

the valuation for purposes of 2913.61.  However, nothing in R.C. 2913.61 precludes or 

prevents an independent, subsequent valuation of a victim's economic loss to include the 

amount of sales tax previously expended, or about to be spent, in replacing a stolen item.  

R.C. 2929.28 would clearly allow the expense of sales tax as part of a victim's economic loss 

and the valuation of economic loss is not limited to a determination pursuant to R.C. 2913.61. 

{¶20} During the restitution hearing sub judice, the defendant did dispute the 

restitution amount but never argued, or even remotely suggested, that the victim's economic 

loss should be less than $500.  The defendant knew that he would be paying significant 

restitution as a direct and proximate result of his offense.  Thus, while the trial court properly 

fulfilled its mandatory duty to determine restitution and conduct a hearing, the defendant 

waived his current argument before this court by not tendering the same issue first for 

consideration by the trial court.  State v. Guzman-Martinez, Warren App. No. CA2010-06-

059, 2011-Ohio-1310. 

{¶21} In the instant case, Stiles was originally charged with a felony theft offense of 

over $500.  The defendant pled guilty to the lesser offense in municipal court immediately 
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prior to the trial court conducting a preliminary hearing.  By doing so, the defendant not only 

received the benefit of a reduced charge but also avoided a grand jury indictment.  In 

addition to these benefits of pleading to a lesser offense, Stiles is now awarded a significant 

windfall by not being required to pay the victim's economic loss.  R.C. 2929.01(M) defines 

economic loss as "any economic detriment, suffered by the victim" so long as it is directly and 

proximately caused by the defendant's particular offense.  There is no legislative intent to 

have less than full restitution in misdemeanor theft offenses.  To imply such an intent is not a 

reasonable interpretation of the various statutes involved, and disregards the harmony and 

consistency within Ohio's statutory framework. 

{¶22} The Ohio Supreme Court has directed that "[w]e must give effect to every term 

in a statute and avoid a construction that would render any provision meaningless, 

inoperative, or superfluous."  Rhodes v. City of Philadelphia, 2011-Ohio-3279, slip opinion.  

The restitution statute clearly and unequivocally states that the restitution is to be "based on 

the victim's economic loss" as a direct and proximate result of the offenses committed by the 

offender.  R.C. 2929.28(A)(1).  To interject into the statute a limit of $499.99 vitiates, or 

renders meaningless, the purpose of conducting a restitution hearing, gathering information, 

and determining the victim's economic loss.  We should not place trial courts in the awkward 

position of conducting a hearing as if it were going to rectify the victim's loss, only to tell the 

victim, "sorry, we are unable to make you whole even though you've proven your loss."  

{¶23} Dissent on this issue is not a new concept to this court.  Judge Walsh, now 

retired from the Twelfth District, also dissented when presented with a similar factual 

scenario, and stated that the majority's decision in his case interpreted "a restriction in 

determining restitution that is neither contained in nor authorized by the restitution statute."  

State v. Miller, Butler App. No. CA2007-11-295, 2008-Ohio-5661, ¶16, Walsh, J. dissenting.  

I share Judge Walsh's concern regarding the majority's application, which not only limits a 
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trial court's ability to make the victim whole, but also stands in contradiction to the plain 

language of the restitution statute.  

{¶24} For these reasons, I would reverse our holding in State v. Henry and affirm the 

trial court herein, thus loosening our grip on the trial court's ability to rectify the harm caused 

to victims of crime in theft offenses. 
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